I just got myself an HDMI cable so I could use my son’s Amazon Prime account to stream season one of Mr. Robot. Which was amazing. Now I can’t wait for season 2 which starts this week.

That reminded me that I am continually amazed at how many ways there are to access old Dead content (and content in general). Having just figured out how to stream YouTube through my TV, I just watched a 1974 show from Winterland courtesy of Voodoonola, and watched a brain altering jam during The Other One. Now I’ve been to a lot of Dead shows but what you don’t see unless you’re super close up I suppose, is the interactions. The look Jerry has when he’s in the zone, or when he’s watching someone else play. Or watching them laugh at each other when they mess up a lyric or come in too soon. And watching Jerry’s masterful playing is mesmerizing. I suppose my only critique is that some of the close-ups are extreme close-ups. Like count Jerry’s nose hairs kind of close.

But I don’t mind the close-ups of Jerry’s fingers all over the frets. Or watching two little blond kids at the very front of the stage dancing to the beginning of China Cat. Jerry looks young, fit, and happy. And to be able to see him like that means everything.

Donna made an appearance a few songs in during Scarlet Begonias. I know we love Donna and all, and she’s been doing some shows with Dead and Co, but oh my God. Please stop. I mean, there’s a nice long jam and she won’t stop caterwallin. On the other hand, she is wearing a skull and roses tank top.

And watching the intro of Weather Report where Bobby is playing with just Phil. And then Keith comes in playing just the right hand but watching Bobby and Phil really intently. The visuals are sometimes really intense because they were really intense. You can watch them bend, twist, and create new notes and new sounds. It’s magical, spiritual, and emotional.

So I feel like I just got the keys to the kingdom. I can sit in my bedroom watching not just this show, but an an almost unlimited amount of content without leaving the house. Heck, I love the Relisten app, which lets me listen to live shows on my commute to work. And I often tune into Soundcloud at work to listen to Phil shows from Terrapin Crossroads.

I know a lot of you have grown up with this type of technology, but I was around for black and white TV, 8-track tapes, rotary phones, beepers, and answering machines. So yeah. I’m kind of old(ish). But not too old to appreciate and enjoy the giant leaps in technology that have unfolded before my eyes. We used to say that we’d see even more shows if they’d only play in our backyard. So while I do appreciate a live show, and am looking forward to two shows here at Fenway Park, I kind of got my wish.

See you in Boston!

Love,

Meri (rhymes with Jerry)